ACT NOW! Tell State Senators to support LB 623 to let DACA recipients obtain drivers‘ licenses

IMG_2658-e1424288058960.jpg

In August 2012, then Governor Dave Heineman made the decision to deny licenses to Nebraska’s Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients, although they have a valid Employment Authorization Document and Social Security Number. And now, Nebraska is the ONLY state denying them licenses. On January 21, 2015, Senator Jeremy Nordquist of District 7 introduced LB 623 in the Nebraska Legislature, which would allow recipients to obtain drivers’ licenses.

Although DACA recipients were not born in the U.S., they identify themselves as Nebraskans, as they have spent most of their lives here, are well-educated and loyal to the state. They want the state to grow, but more than anything, they want to be a part of that process.

With the passage of LB 623, these young Nebraskans will be able to further contribute to the wellbeing of their families, communities, and state, while at the same time, helping them to more fully achieve their goals.

But we need YOUR help. We need you to either call or email the 8 members of the Transportation and Telecommunications Committee and tell them to vote YES on LB 623:

Hello Sen. ______________. My name is ______________, and I live in______________. I'm contacting you to let you know that I support LB 623. This bill would allow Nebraska's DACA recipients (DREAMers) to obtain drivers' licenses. This is a good policy that would allow these young Nebraskans to continue to achieve their dreams and contribute to the well-being of the state. I strongly encourage you to vote yes for LB 623. Thank you for your support.

Be sure to call TODAY! The public hearing for this bill is scheduled for Tuesday, March 3 at 1:30PM in Room 1113 in the Nebraska Capitol Building. If you're interested in attending and would like a ride from Omaha, call us at 402.933.6095.

Contact information of Members of the Transportation and Telecommunication Committee:

Senator Jim Smith Committee Chair Phone: (402) 471-2730 Email: jsmith@leg.ne.gov

Senator Lydia Brasch Committee Vice Chair Phone: (402) 471-2728 Email: lbrasch@leg.ne.gov

Senator Al Davis Phone: (402) 471-2628 Email: adavis@leg.ne.gov

Senator Curt Friesen Phone: (402) 471-2630 Email: cfriesen@leg.ne.gov

Senator Tommy Garrett Phone: (402) 471-2627 Email: tgarrett@leg.ne.gov

Senator Beau McCoy Phone: (402) 471-2885 Email: bmccoy@leg.ne.gov

Senator John Murante Phone: (402) 471-2725 Email: jmurante@leg.ne.gov

Senator Les Seiler Phone: (402) 471-2712 Email: lseiler@leg.ne.gov Thank you for your support. By taking a few minutes of your day to call or email these committee members,, we can effectively advocate for change as we work together to build a community that works for all.

News-category1HWC Staff